top of page


Striving for excellence, we are aware of the need of independent and critical view on our actions and strategic development. Therefore, end 2022, the EUPSF Board decided to complete the governance of the foundation with a formal Advisory Board. 
The members of the Advisory Board are appointed by the Board, on the proposal of the President. They sit in a personal capacity and the EUPSF Board may refer to the Advisory Board at any time for advice on strategic issues or important policies related to the Foundation's work. 

PD Dr. Sven Staender (Switzerland)
EUPSF Advisory Board Member
EUPSF Past President (2019-2022)


In addition to his clinical work, Sven's professional focus has always been on patient safety and clinical risk management.

In over 30 years of clinical practice, Sven developed the Critical Incident Reporting System (CIRS) and contributed to the development of the Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesia of the European Society of Anaesthesiology & Intensive Care (ESAIC).

Sven was a President of the European Patient Safety Foundation, chair of the Swiss Society of Anaesthesiology Liability Commission (SSAPM), and has served on the Advisory Board of the Swiss Patient Safety Foundation. Sven is active nationally and internationally as a reviewer and lecturer.

  • Linkedin

Prof. Dr. Eberhard Kochs (Germany)
EUPSF Advisory Board Member

Kochs portrait.jpg

Prof. Kochs has served as Chair of the Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care of the University Hospital Klinikum rechts der Isar, Technical University Munich for more than 23 years and is retired now. After his term as General Secretary of the European Society of Anaesthesiology (ESA) he became ESA President. During this term the European Safety Patient Foundation was founded which later became independent from ESA.

During his career as medical doctor he was always involved in patient safety issues seeing both sides regarding patient safety: the patient´s view and the health care system with its many national and international facets. After his retirement it was a logical step to become involved in EUPSF with the goal to strengthen and harmonize patient safety issues on a European level.

  • Linkedin

Dr. Nancy Redfern (UK)
EUPSF Advisory Board Member

Picture 1.jpg

Nancy is an anaesthetist and an academic researcher from Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust with interests in obstetric and neuroanaesthesia..

She is a co-chair of joint fatigue working group in UK and co-lead for mentoring at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. In the past, Specialty Dean Director, College Tutor, Member of the European Board for Anaesthesia, on workforce working conditions and welfare commitee and Past Vice president of Association of Anaesthetists.

Nancy's interests include mentorship, education, doctors’ health and wellbeing and appraisal. She is currently working on ways of mitigating fatigue and the impact of ageing on performance at work.

  • Linkedin

Prof. Dr. Adrian Gelb (USA)
EUPSF Advisory Board Member

Adrian Gelb-Pref.jpg

Adrian is an experienced, well published clinical-academic anesthesiologist with special expertise in anesthesia and the neurosciences. Research has included both laboratory and clinical with a focus on the interplay of neurosurgery, cerebral ischemia, and anesthetic pharmacology. 

His current focus is Global Health, specifically the perioperative echo system. His activities include Advocacy, Patient Safety, Metrics, Policy & Standards. He is the immediate past president of the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA) and a past chair of the Safety & Quality Committee. He led the development and publication of the WHO-WFSA International Standards for a Safe Practice of Anesthesia.

  • Linkedin

Mrs. Cecilia Edström (Sweden)
EUPSF Advisory Board Member


Cecilia is an experienced executive and board professional, with a broad international background from various management positions in the Life Science, telecommunications and automotive industries. Her most recent executive position was a CEO of Bactiguard AB, a Swedish, Nasdaq listed mid-cap MedTech company focusing on infection prevention. 


She is a Board member of A3P Biomedical AB (advanced prostate cancer diagnostics), Flerie Invest AB (invests in venture and growth stage companies engaged in drug development and associated applications tackling major medical challenges) and Neonode Inc. (human machine interaction).


She is passionate about driving sustainable change through strategic, patient centric management and focus. 

  • Linkedin

Dr. David Borshoff (Australia)
EUPSF Advisory Board Member


Dr. David Borshoff is the author of The Anaesthetic Crisis Manual and editor of both The Resuscitation Crisis Manual and The Perfusion Crisis Manual.


He has been a cardiac anaesthesiologist, is a former Director of Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine for St John of God Healthcare, a Patient Safety instructor, recreational pilot and past chair of the ASA (Australian Society of Anaesthetists) Communications Committee.


He now works full time as a private anaesthesiologist with the Metropolitan Anaesthesia Group in Perth, Western Australia.

  • Linkedin
  • Linkedin
bottom of page